58th Regular Convention

LCMS Central Illinois District
The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod

58th Regular Convention

July 5 – 7, 2015

Convention Workbook Convention Updates Convention Photos

The 58th Convention of the LCMS Central Illinois District (CID) of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod (LCMS) and the 7th Convention of the Church Extension Fund, Inc. (CEF) will be held at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Springfield, Illinois, on July 5-7, 2015.  Registration for the convention and business sessions will be held at the Crowne Plaza from 3:00 pm to 6:00 pm on Sunday, July 5th, and beginning at 7:00 am on Monday, July 6thRooms will be available at the Crowne Plaza and the Holiday Inn Express (next door).  The Holiday Inn provides a continental breakfast, but the Crowne Plaza does not.

The By-Laws of Synod (4.2) state that delegates of a voting congregation shall be accredited.  This involves preconvention registration by both the pastoral delegate and lay delegate with properly signed documentation by 2 congregational officers.   At the convention they are to identify themselves to the credentials committee, presenting a card with their name and congregation.  Each delegate is to bring a copy of the Synodical Credential for Presidential Election and submit it at the time of registration.  Further details will be posted separately.  All nonvoting ordained and commissioned ministers who are members of the Synod within the district shall serve as advisory delegates.  They are entitled to voice and vote on a floor committee, if appointed, and to voice in the convention.  All advisory members are expected to attend all sessions of the convention.

Guests, exhibitors, and others are welcome to attend, but are also to present themselves to the credentials committee at the registration desk to identify themselves.

Prior to the convention, each ordained minister, each voting lay delegate preregistered, and each school principal will receive a CD with convention materials included.  Other advisory delegates desiring this information may request it from the District Office.  Each individual is responsible for printing up any material they need for the convention off the CD.  There will be very limited printed convention material at the registration desk.  There will be no electrical outlets available in the convention hall for computers.

We plan to again use voting key pads.  This should hasten the election process and eliminate much paper work.  Each voting delegate will be assigned a wireless voting key pad.  There is a charge of $395 for any damaged or lost key pad.

Registration Fees:  Each voting delegate will be assessed a fee of $75 to cover convention costs and 2 meals on Monday.  Voting delegate registration not received by June 1, 2015 will be subject to an additional $50 fee.  Nonvoting ordained and commissioned ministers who are actively serving will be assessed a fee of $25 which does not include meals.  If meals are desired add $60 ($25 for lunch and $35 for dinner).  For emeritus ordained and commissioned ministers, guests, and exhibitors there is no charge for registration, but the $50 meal charge applies if meals are desired and at least one week notice must be given before the convention convenes.  Exhibitor space is available for $30 per table desired.  If an electrical connection is desired, an additional $30 is required.  Exhibitors will be assigned tables and a layout will be available so conventioneers will know where each exhibitor is located.

Hotel Information:   Everyone is to make their own reservation with the hotels.  Room rates which include 1 or 2 persons at the Crowne Plaza is $99 (does not include breakfast) and at the Holiday Inn Express $94 (which includes a continental breakfast).  When you contact the hotels for reservation, tell them you are with the Central Illinois District Convention to receive our special rates.  If you have any difficulties, contact the District Office.

Crowne Plaza
3000 S. Dirksen Parkway
Springfield, IL 62703
(217) 529-7777

Holiday Inn Express
3050 S. Dirksen Parkway
Springfield, IL 62703
(217) 529-7771

Directions:  From Interstate 55 take Exit #94 (Stevenson Drive) and travel west to Dirksen Parkway.  Turn right (north) and travel a short distance to the hotels located on your right (East).

Schedule:  The convention will start with an opening communion service on Sunday, July 5th, at 7:00 pm.  Monday morning, July 6th, the sessions begin at 8:00 am and will continue until 9:30 pm.  The only scheduled breaks are for lunch and dinner.  Bathroom and coffee breaks are on your own.  It is not good stewardship to have everyone heading to those areas at the same time.  Our meals will be next door to our convention meeting area.  Tuesday, July 7th, the sessions again begin at 8:00 am and continue until 12 noon.  You will be on your own for Tuesday lunch. 

Seating:  There will be sufficient seating for all delegates in the delegate section.  All voting delegates are asked to sit in the table cloth area which will have a different color for the delegate section and advisory section.

Electing Circuit Visitors

  1. It shall be done at a Circuit Forum attended by 1 lay person & 1 pastor from each congregation (Forums should be held before March 15, 2015).
  2. Election shall be by written ballot. 
  3. Eligible – All pastors serving congregations in the circuit and any emeriti pastors in the circuit.       
  4. Process to follow:

    A. Information provided on each pastor who is nominated, 
    B. Each voter shall vote for 2 pastors on the initial ballot, 
    C. The 3 Pastors with highest votes are placed on next ballot,
    D. Each voter shall now vote for 1 pastor,
    E. Voting continues until 1 has majority of votes cast, 

  5. Immediately after election, the current Circuit Visitor reports the election in writing to the District Secretary, Rev. Rick Milas, University Lutheran Church, 604 E. Chalmers, Champaign, IL  61820, 
  6. The July CID Convention will ratify the election.

Electing the Synodical President 
(which takes place by electronic vote prior to the 2016 Synodical Convention)

Only delegates in attendance at the District Convention are eligible to vote for the Synodical president.

If a lay delegate is unable to attend the district convention, but his alternate attends, the alternate is the one voting for Synodical President.

If no lay delegate attends the district convention, the congregation has lost its vote for Synodical President.

If one or both delegates are unavailable for the election, Synodical Bylaw allows the congregation to select a substitute.